| /

Providing step-by-step guidance for every stage of the meditation path, this uniquely comprehensive guide for a Western audience combines the wisdom from the teachings of the Buddha with the latest research in cognitive psychology and neuroscience. Clear and friendly, this in-depth practice manual builds on the nine-stage model of meditation originally articulated by the ancient Indian sage Asanga, crystallizing the entire meditative journey into 10 clearly-defined stages. The book also introduces a new and fascinating model of how the mind works, and uses illustrations and charts to help the reader work through each stage. This manual is an essential read for the beginner to the seasoned veteran of meditation and can be read from front to back, or used as a reference guide, choosing chapters as needed based on the current state of the reader’s practice.

About the Author:

Culadasa (John Yates, PhD), is the director of Dharma Treasure Buddhist Sangha in Tucson, Arizona and was a teacher of physiology and neuroscience. He has been ordained as an Upasaka (dedicated lay-practitioner) and has received ordination in the International Order of Buddhist ministers in Rosemead, California. He lives in Pearce, Arizona. Matthew Immergut, PhD is an associate professor of sociology. He is a longtime meditator and a dedicated student of Culadasa. He lives in Woodstock, New York. Jeremy Graves is a student of Culadasa and has accumulated roughly a year-and-a-half of extended retreat time under his teacher’s mentorship. His approach to Buddhist practice combines the insights of science, art, and devotional practice. He lives in Laguna Beach, California.

Product Details:

Author: Culadasa (John Yates, PhD)
Paperback: 504 pages
Publisher: Dharma Treasure Press (October 6, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0990847705
ISBN-13: 978-0990847700
Product Dimensions: 7.5 x 1.5 x 9.2 inches